Final Fantasy I and II has been re-released several times on several different console types. The dominant success from the original game that started this explosive series needed to be relived. Final Fantasy was originally released for the Nintendo Entertainment System, very few changes were rendered from the original releases in the compilation version and ports - details on any chages/additions below:

  • Ported to MSX2 in 1989 (FFI)
  • Ported to WonderSwan Color in 2000 (FFI) and 2001 (FFII)
  • Ported to Mobile Phones (in Japan) in 2004
  • Included in Final Fantasy Origins - Sony Playstation in 2002
  • Included in Final Fantasy: Dawn of Souls - Gameboy Advance in 2004
  • Ported to Playstation Portable in 2007 as part of the 20th Anniversary edition
  • Ported to the Virtual Console (JP) in 2009 (FFII)
  • Ported to iPhone in 2010

Final Fantasy Origins

Final Fantasy Origins

The two-game collection that almost completely remakes the original Final Fantasy, and the formerly Japan-only release Final Fantasy II, Final Fantasy Origins for PlayStation One is one of the most in-depth Sqare remake collections yet. Revamped graphics and added event scenes further engross the player in the emotional storyline. Saving is no longer restricted to certain locations with the addition of the Memo File function. Multiple gameplay modes allow players to customize game difficulty when beginning a new quest. CG movies and stills have been added throughout the game, taking the story to new cinematic heights. Improved sound quality, new opening themes, and an added art gallery deepen the game experience.

Final Fantasy Origins was most similar to the WonderSwan Color remake (made seperately in 2000). There were only minor alterations made to help take advantae of the new hardware, higher screen resolution, and raphics that Sony provided on their console. Here is a list of some of the new additions:

  • Remake of two Squaresoft titles that laid the foundation of the Final Fantasy series.
  • Original event scenes have been revamped and new ones added to intensify the emotional impact of story elements.
  • Enhanced graphics breathe new life and detail into all game elements, from deep dungeons and vast worlds to menacing creatures and wandering heroes.
  • New opening theme songs and improved sound quality
  • Brand new, high quality CG movies and stills visually enhance the storylines in dramatic fashion.
  • A new bestiary contains detailed descriptions of all monsters to assist players in battle.
  • Access to art galleries featuring beautiful illustrations by renowned artist Yoshitaka Amano.
  • "Memo File" function added for quick, convenient saves.
  • New game play modes allows players to choose the level of difficulty within the game.

Dawn of Souls

Final Fantasy Dawn of Souls Box

Much like Final Fantasy Origins, this is another port with new additions and enhancements, only this time it is for the Game Boy Advance. All-new Soul of Chaos dungeons and Soul of Rebirth storyline vastly expands your Final Fantasy experience. Dawn of Souls stays true to the original NES versions of the game, but enriches the experience using Nintendo's portable Gameboy Advance. New additions and differences include:

  • Dawn of Souls lacked the ability to change the difficulty of the game (which was available in Final Fantasy Origins).
  • You can also save the game at any point out of battle, while both the original and Origins release did not.
  • There is only one available Blood Sword, while there were 2 in the earlier versions of the game.
  • New Soul of Chaos dungeon (FF1)
    The dungeons are accessible by bringing power back to the Crystals by defeating each of the Elemental Fiends. Following the defeat of each fiend - a dungeon unlocks, terminating in a selection of four bosses each from Final Fantasy III, IV, V, and VI.
  • New Soul of Rebirth dungeon (FF2)
    A bonus storyline called Soul of Rebirth is accessible, featuring a number of characters who had been killed off during the course of the main story. The game only features four areas and most of the time will be spent training up for a second encounter with the last boss.
  • Improved, more detailed storyline
  • Contains the Bestiary feature (1st introduced in Final Fantasy: Origins
  • The bosses here are now a bit more powerful, espeically Chaos
  • Training is now much easier, and gaining levels is quicker.

20th Anniversary Editions

Final Fantasy I Anniversary Final Fantasy II Anniversary Edition

Both Final Fantasy I and Final Fantasy II were ported to Playstation Portable in 2007 as part of the 20th Anniversary edition. Some of the improvements and differences include:

  • Higher resolution and improved graphics
  • The two new dungeons from the Dawn of Souls version remain in this version.
  • The music tracks from boss fights were changed to the tracks of the games the new bosses came from.
  • A new dugeon called The Labyrinth of Time with much greater difficulty than any other.
  • The Amano art gallery from Final Fantasy Origins is in thie release.
  • The CGI Scenes from Final Fantasy Origins version are intact again and improved