The history of Eorzea has been marked by a cycle of prosperous "Astral" and disastrous "Umbral" eras. Now the land stands poised to enter another age of decline, a period known as the Seventh Umbral Era. On the eastern border, the Garlean Empire masses its troops for invasion, while the native beastmen tribes summon their deities.

Comprised of Aldenard, the westernmost of the Three Great Continents, and its surrounding islands, the realm of Eorzea has been the cradle of several unique civilizations throughout history. Towering mountains dominate the north, their peaks forever lashed with icy winds; to the south, a bleak expanse of unforgiving desert holds sway. Yet these inhospitable lands hold irresistible lure for man and monster alike, for wide and deep flow the currents of aether, and rich are the veins of power-infused crystal. In this harsh though vibrant region, the people of Eorzea have carved out their histories—a cycle of prosperous Astral and disastrous Umbral eras.

The First Umbral Era brought an end to the age of the gods, and there have been six such eras of calamity since the First Astral Era ushered in the age of man. Each of the umbral catastrophes has, in turn, borne the characteristics of one of the six elements. With all the elements now represented, it was believed the current Astral Era would last into eternity. But in the seventh verse of the Divine Chronicles, Mezaya Thousand Eyes prophesized a less fortunate fate. The "senary sun," or Sixth Astral Era, would indeed end, and the "septenary moon," or Seventh Umbral Era, would cast its shadow upon the land.

Now the land stands poised to enter another age of decline, a period known as the Seventh Umbral Era. On the eastern border, the Garlean Empire masses its troops for invasion, while the native beastmen tribes summon their deities, the otherworldly primals. The threats facing Eorzea will not easily be overcome.

Together, players of FFXIV will seek to defend their homes and friends from The Garlean Empire, while discovering the secrets of the "The Echo," the primals, and The Twelve. During this time, they will encounter a number of friends and foes in the different beast tribes. Through teamwork and painstaking efforts, adventurers and soldiers alike will surely prepare to present a formidable opposition to the competent and threatening gaze of The Garlean Empire.

The Twelve

"The Twelve" is a group consisting of the twelve gods and goddesses that watch over the world of Hydaelyn. Players will be given the option of selecting their "guardian" deity during initial character creation. It is currently unknown what effects this will have on the player throughout the game, although there are likely small benefits rewarded from the guardian deity. Each deity has an associated element, tool, month, and relation to the other deities.

Fire Deities Azeyma, the Warden
Nald'thal, the Traders
Ice Deities Menphina, the Lover
Halone, the Fury
Wind Deities Llymlaen, the Navigator
Oschon, the Wanderer
Earth Deities Nophica, the Matron
Althyk, the Keeper
Lightning Deities Byregot, the Builder
Rhalgr, the Destroyer
Water Deities Nymeia, the Spinner
Thaliak, the Scholar

The Age of Calm

The Age of Calm is a time in the Eorzean history where Eorzea suffers from an uneasy peace during the predicted invasion of the Garlean Empire from Ala Mhigo. Alas, the invasion never came, yet the effects of the attack on Ala Mhigo, once thought to be the strongest of the six main city-states of Eorzea, caused dramatic changes. In order to prevent the destruction of other city-states, the five remaining joined together in an effort to defend against the Garlean Empire. They formed official defenses with soldiers and knights, however, this led to the aggravation of thousands of mercenaries. These mercenaries had previously been the only real form of protection against strife in Eorzea, and with their jobs taken, they resorted to acts of violence. To calm this, powerful leaders joined together to create guilds, where these men and women could use their skills for the benefit of the nations. In doing so, a number of guilds were formed, and the popularity of "adventurers" increased.

The Garlean Empire

The Garlean Empire is the main enemy/antagonist in Final Fantasy XIV. They control the majority of the Three Great Continents, the enormous landmass that encompasses Eorzea. Until some fifty years ago, Garlemald was a remote and sparsely populated nation which held little more than a fraction of the northern continent of Ilsabard. But with the arrival of a technological golden age and the concurrent emergence of a brilliant young legatusâ€"now the reigning emperorâ€"in the span of a single generation Garlemald established itself as one of the most formidable forces in all of Hydaelyn. In the Year 1557 of the Sixth Astral Era, a mere thirty-six years from the Empire's founding, the Garleans brought their campaign of conquest to Eorzea, swiftly bringing the city-state of Ala Mhigo to its knees. Yet following the subjugation of Ala Mhigo, the Empire suddenly ceased its aggressive expansion.

For more than a decade, the continent of Aldenard knew relative peace. In the Year of 1571, however, the Garlean army once again began its inexorable advance. Using the calamitous arrival of the Seventh Umbral Era to sinister advantage, the Empire prepares to gather the lands of Eorzea into its steely embrace...