Final Fantasy: Legend of the Crystals (also known as Final Fantasy: OVA) is an anime series based on Final Fantasy. Unlike the other Final Fantasy anime series, Final Fantasy: Unlimited, this series actually had FF relevant content. It takes place 200 years after the events in Final Fantasy V and take on a new evil called Deathgyuno.

The series was only released in Japan in 1994 and spanned a total of four 30 minute episodes on two VHS tapes. Critics gave pretty poor reviews, stating that although it was the first sequel to any Final Fantasy game (even if it is a tv series), it did not meet the quality you expect from a Final Fantasy title.


The Planet of R's existence is staying alive by only four magical crystals, each one controls a different element which is needed. Wind, Fire, Water, and Earth. A long time ago, Dark Forces stole the crystals and tried to kill the whole planet. But, the heroes fought desperately, defeated the dark forces and returned the planet to its peaceful state...

Legend of the Crystals only has a total of four episodes (30 minutes each, 2 episodes per VHS):

  • Episode I - Wind Chapter
  • Episode II - Fire Chapter
  • Episode III - Dragon Chapter
  • Episode IV - Star Chapter

Game Releases

Title Platform Release Date (JP) Release Date (US)
Final Fantasy Legend of the Crystals VHS 1994-03-21 1997-06-15