Thread: Modern Medicine and Medication

Modern Medicine and Medication

I had a passing thought last night. It lingered in my mind and well... now I want to know how you feel about it.

In this day and age many a problem seems to be sorted out with some kind of drug. Okay I hold my hands up. I am NO expert in this matter - and so what I say may be a load of... bull.

I have somebody in my family who always has some medical dilemma. She says she is always ill... but fact is - she looks so healthy it's unreal. That is besides the point anyway. After being to many a doctor she's been given anti-depressants... and well pills pills pills. But! The pills cause more issues... and so what is the answer? MORE PILLS. And so the cycle continues.
    I just feel that sometimes in this time... pills are prescribed a little too freely. Especially for something like depression... but I am NO EXPERT. And maybe I'm being really selfish here.
    I saw something like this on a medical documentary... I guess it's what got the cogs whurring.

I myself... when I have a headache sure I get a panadol.. I'm just as guilty as the next person x3. So this isn't some accusatory post.
    But I thought to myself... maybe next time I'll try something herbal? Because.. well.. doesn't your body slowly become immune to the drugs you take? Like antibiotics. I'm saying that from only a very vague memory... but hey! You won't flame me... right? XP

So what are your thoughts? On well... modern medicine and medication! Also... do you think herbal treatments should be taken more seriously? I'm in two minds about as I can be a huge skeptic xD.

Following the path for truth...

and ending the dream.

sweet-as-sugar