Thread: PS3 save files

#LOCKE4GOD PS3 save files Alpha's Avatar
    Blog Entries

PS3 save files

I'm not good with technology.

With that out of the way, I've got an issue coming up. My elder brother is getting ready to move out of home in about two weeks. He will take the PS3 with him, after paying me my share of it. He plays it more, and owns the majority of the games, so I don't actually care in the slightest. I'm not impatient to play XIII, even though I've pre-ordered my copy.

My question is about getting my save data/trophy information, downloaded games/videos/themes, etc., on to my new PS3, whenever I buy one (probably November/December 2010). Is it a simple matter of plugging in a flash drive, and copying and pasting? Or is it harder? Or impossible to retrieve entirely?

I could just try looking online. But where's the fun in that? Plus, someone else might find this information useful. So, who knows?

The Quiet One PS3 save files Andromeda's Avatar
    Blog Entries

Re: PS3 save files

You get a thumb drive and put it all on there. I don't recall how to transfer accounts to a thumb drive since it was usually something someone else did for me on work. But I know that you can just plug in the thumb drive and copy all of your saves and username over to it. There is probably an option in the system tools to transfer usernames.

I know that Sony on their site tells you how to replace your HDD if you wish to do so. They give you all of the instructions to go through. And I believe that backing up the data for your new HDD is part of that. So you can probably look on Sony's site for the exact details.

The save data is pretty easy because you can go into the options of the save files and move or copy it to a different location, that being the thumb drive. So that part shouldn't give you any trouble.
    Curious? There's no limits but your own imagination.
    Don't know how to roleplay, but want to learn? Visit Here!