Thread: Help me

Help me

http://www.ciao.com/Compaq_Presario_..._GHz__15436550

AMD Anthon XP 2000+ 1.67 GHz, 256 MB of RAM with service pack 2 home addition…WHAT A PIECE OF CRAP NO!!? Well guys I need your help. Instead of buying a new computer I decided to upgrade this potato powered “machine” I own. I have never done this before and would really appreciate your help. I don’t know much about computers so help me out with what I need to buy. One problem I have is I don’t have much money to upgrade it…

One question before this topic goes anywhere, is my computer too old to be upgraded? Is 2002 Compaq. I mean is not THAT old but technology these days moves fast.

Anyway with that out of the way what do I need. Lets say you and me are inside best buy right now, lead the way.

I am not trying to make a super gaming PC, I don’t have the money. The only game I actually play in my computer is Final Fantasy 11. The game plays on my computer so-so. I am looking forward to playing it on a much better resolution, with less problems.

I defrayment it from time to time and I keep it in good condition but the thing is just too weak!
    Last edited by Bang Bang; 03-10-2008 at 04:14 PM.

Blog Entries
    Well, first off the list to say, is that when you upgrade, you have to shop for parts that are compatible to your motherboard. ...And since your computer is from 2002, well...

Yeah. I'd say it's a bit old. It'd be too much of a hassle. I mean, you could keep the same case, but you'd have to literally get a new Mobo, because chances are that the parts available won't even be compatible. I mean, you could find parts that are compatible, but they'd still be obsolete compared to the ones available now. And they'd cost more since they're "out of print".

...And with that in mind, may as well just get a new computer with a newer spiffy case. =P

But that's just my opinion. In old computers like that, the parts would probably add up to about the same as a new computer.