Thread: Anyone got a tablet or knowledgeable on them? Need advice.

Princess Sugarsprinkles Quistis's Avatar

Anyone got a tablet or knowledgeable on them? Need advice.

I have a long commute everyday (2 hours in the train on top of the 40 min walk in total. The walk is fine it is a workout the 2 hours is what's bothering me lol). I thought I'd go get a tablet.

So far I have my eyes on Lenovo Thinkpad because I can actually draw on it with their digitizer pen. (pressure sensitive). Ipad1/2 came to mind but I am not really into the whole 'exclusive' mentality of Apple. Plus I am a Java programmer and Android runs on Java technology from what I heard so..maybe I can even get to develop my own apps eventually...and the SD card slot of Lenovo will make it super convenient for me to transfer my drawings to/from PC.

Anyhow, just needed your general thoughts on them or any recommendations (even if it is iPad or not lenovo). I mainly want to use it for drawing, games and surfing the net (generic stuff). All my heavy duty apps (e.g. photoshop, MMO/hardcore gaming, I also got a cintiq) I can do on my PC at home.

Mystyrion

Re: Anyone got a tablet or knowledgeable on them? Need advice.

I still haven't heard of any Android tablets getting amazing reviews. I'd wait another year before picking one of those up.
    Especially since tegra 3 tablets are suppose to be coming out next fiscal year.

The whole closed thing of Apple really isn't a big deal, almost everyone that has developed an app for Android most likely has the same app made for Apple.
    Apple also has some pretty useful apps for the iPad, i almost picked one up just because you can edit movies on your iPad. I'd give another look into it.

And my personal favorite that has limited apps. The HP touchpad, i just love webOS operating system, its sad that they have had hardware failures in the past to give them such a low reputation. Oh well, they go on sale for 99$ refurbs on HP's ebay on the 11th.