Thread: Perfume Profiles

Sir Prize Perfume Profiles Sinister's Avatar
    Blog Entries

Perfume Profiles

I'm doing a study of the aromatic qualities of essential oils distilled from certain plants and their place in perfumes that we see on store shelves. Distinctly each perfume has a top, middle and base chord of scents. Each chord contains no less than four scents. The top chord lasts only a few seconds after exposure. The middle chord appears after the top chord has faded and lasts only an hour or two. The base chord follows and can endure a couple of days. These are generally arranged by molecule size and by quantities used.

Traditional perfumes have only twelve notes. Modern perfumes can have much more. The perfume as a whole is designated by terms of it's ingredients as any variation of either Floral, Fresh, Oriental or Woody notes.

I won't bore you with the details of which plants I'm studying and where they fit in all this. Or any stupidity like Soliflore scents and ambergris. But I am interested to kind of poll the forum as to their favorites.

Floral perfumes, deal with all essential oils containing flower scents. Fresh perfumes can include sea fragrances to citrus or even grassy scents. Wood notes come from barks like cinnamon or earthy notes like leather and tobacco. Oriental have their origins...of course in the east, ala Patchouli and etc...

What perfumes/colognes do you use/like...what scent profiles do they have? And why must I kill the random person who mentions Axe or Bod?

-Sin(sharpening knife)
    Last edited by Sinister; 04-28-2010 at 11:06 PM.

Fear not, this is not...the end of this world.

"I'm just a soul whose intentions are good..."

...means nothing to no way Furore's Avatar

Re: Perfume Profiles

I just use a cheap antiperspirent deodorant or aftershave mostly and would usually go for the one that doesn't have a foul perfume-like smell.