Thread: Stupid work problems

Bananarama Stupid work problems Pete's Avatar
    Blog Entries

Stupid work problems

Anyone else get sent on wild goose chases at work? I work in construction, in a division where I have to go to various locations and provide need based services to our clients. My office gives me a few jobs to go to a day, usually with a description, address and contact details. Simple shit, really.

Today, I got sent to a job at Queens Center Mall at 8am. It's close to my house, I'm happy. I get there and call my contact, let's call him Jersey Mike. I tell him that I'm at his site, and he gives me general directions to where he exactly is. Totally not matching up to anything I see. Midway through the conversation, he tells me he's at the Kings Plaza Mall, which isn't so close.

I call my office to get this figured out. They seem equally confused and give me another number for, let's say Long Island Mike. I call him, no answer.

I start going to every storefront being worked on in the mall, asking workers if they needed anything from my company. No dice.

I call my boss, asking him to help me straighten this out. He tells me to head over to Kings Plaza, which I do. As I leave the parking lot, Long Island Mike calls me, telling me that he scheduled me for 930, and to stay put. I already paid my garage parking, had to circle the block and get another ticket.

Five minutes ago, Jersey Mike called and asked when he could expect me. He doesn't even know what he needs, but since I called, for something he doesn't even need, he's getting worried that he does need it. Phone won't stop blowing up.

Long story short, my office confused Kings and Queens, and two guys with the same name. I got sent around and am out about 5 bucks in parking.

It's 9am and I could already use a beer.

Anyone else have any fun work stories?
    SOLDIER
    cHoSeN
    Crao Porr Cock8- Rebels, Rogues and Sworn Brothers

People don't read things I send them and they get mad at me.