Thread: Best (and Worst) Controllers

Best (and Worst) Controllers

There have been plenty of different controller designs, from the Dualshock to the Wiimote, and nowadays it seems like the controller is just as important as the console itself.

Out of all the console controllers in gaming history, which one is your favourite? Which controller was your least favourite to play with and why?

Bananarama Best (and Worst) Controllers Pete's Avatar
    Blog Entries
    I was always a sucker for my old 6-button genesis controller. Sweet simplicity.

If we're talking current generation, It's really tough to choose between the 360 and PS3. I love that the PS3 is light, and I've been using PS controllers since 1998, so there's not much changed. I also like the larger grips on the 360 controller, and how the left stick is raised more intuitively for me at least.

Best (and Worst) Controllers-comic-book-guy-jpg
    Worst. Controller. Ever. N64. Hands down.

Maybe it's because I never had one, but it drove me nuts that I'd have to place my hands awkwardly to hold and use the sticks the right way. We used to play Goldeneye in college and I would get smoked every single time. Then we'd play Halo or Timesplitters (SO UNDERRATED) and I would wreck everyone.
    SOLDIER
    cHoSeN
    Crao Porr Cock8- Rebels, Rogues and Sworn Brothers

Consistently Average Best (and Worst) Controllers Kurt Zisa's Avatar
    Blog Entries
    I've only ever had PS controllers from the PS1 to 3 so there's not too much difference between them. I like how the PS3 one is light enough and doesn't have a cable that (morons) people can trip over and rip the console from wherever it's mounted or the controller from your hands.

I understand the the triggers on the 360 controller are better for racing games? I've never really liked how it's all or nothing with using X to accelerate and O to brake on PS games.
    Currently Playing:
    Pillars of Eternity (PC)