Thread: What Final Fantasy means to me

I will save the world What Final Fantasy means to me Hero without a Name's Avatar

What Final Fantasy means to me

13 years....13 years ago I picked up a ps1 controller and I started playing FF7 for the first time in my life, and I fell in love with the game. Was it because of the storyline? The music? The characters? Maybe because despite their struggles and everything they go through, they manage to save the world. In some games, such as IV and X they are recognized for their accomplishment and are praised by their world, but in other games such as VII, no one gets a trophy, but everyone knows they did their part to save the world.

I'm 25 now and I have played almost every single game, with the exception of I and II on the ps1, I have played every single FF and although I have yet to beat them all, each time I play them I get lost into the game. Is it because the game is so good? Or is it because we want to be heroes?

The truth is, we live in a big world and although we do a lot of good in our lives, we still want to one day save everyone or save the actual world, I think that's the hook with FF, because despite each characters personal journeys they all manage to do the job and end their journey.

Sure it'd be nice to use phoenix downs and save our friends from death, or avenge people, etc, etc but if we try that in the real world, you get the chair! All I'm saying is, this game is more than a game to me. It reminds me that you might not carry a huge sword, you might not a huge rack (Tifa), you might not be able to wield magic, and you not have any cool weapons, cool cars, or gadgets, you can still be a hero, it's just the matter of finding something to save. That's my opinion anyway.

"I may save the world, but you'll never know why"

My TFF Family

Judge Magister Brother in Arms: To give peace to the world and look cool doing it

Firefly: Baby cousin To spread joy to all who read the forums