Thread: Best Way to Begin...

vixie

Best Way to Begin...

Hi - not only am I new to this site and forum, but I'm completely new to Final Fantasy, too. I've never played it but it looks so way cool I would love to start. I know almost nothing about it. Would anyone be willing to give me some advice? Do I need a game console? Which are the best FFs to begin with? Any tips you wish you'd known? I just know I'm going to love this game....

Cheers!
    Vixie

I want to play a game. Best Way to Begin... Zargabaath's Avatar

Re: Best Way to Begin...

I would say start from the beginning and work you way towards the latest installments that way you would see how the series progressed.

If you have a Game Boy Advance you would be able to play: Final Fantasy, Final Fantasy II (both are on one cartridge known as Final Fantasy I & II: Dawn of Souls), Final Fantasy IV Advance, Final Fantasy V Advance, & Final Fantasy VI Advance.

The PSP has Final Fantasy: Anniversary Edition, Final Fantasy II: Anniversary Edition, Crisis Core: Final Fantasy VII ( a prequel to FFVII that is more an action-rpg), & Final Fantasy Tactics: The War of the Lions which is an update of Final Fantasy Tactics.

With a DS that can play Game Boy Advance games you can play all those that I listed for the Game Boy Advance plus: Final Fantasy III, Final Fantasy IV DS, Final Fantasy XII: Revenant Wings.

The PS2, with backwards compatibility, can play Final Fantasy VII, Final Fantasy VIII, Final Fantasy IX, Final Fantasy X, Final Fantasy X-2, Final Fantasy XI (a MMO), Final Fantasy XII, and a spin-off SRPG - Final Fantasy Tactics. Also, there are a few compilations of the older games: Final Fantasy Origins (FF & FFII), Final Fantasy Chronicles (FFIV & Chrono Trigger), & Final Fantasy Anthologies (FFV & FFVI). Though I would stay away from these compilations because the GBA or DS version* (* that apply) are better versions with some bonus content.

The PS3 and Xbox 360 both can play Final Fantasy XIII.